Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Poor Biff’s Almanac: Sunday Late-night Edition

Poor Biff's Almanac Graphic (Colored) #1

According to my watch, about fifteen minutes ago it was Friday afternoon and I was leaving work like a moonshiner in a souped up muscle car trying to outrun a revenuer.

And now … it’s Sunday night and I’m about to have to go back to the place I was so eager to leave on Friday afternoon.   Man, they’d better be glad they pay me!  Else I just wouldn’t bother to show up at all.

On top of all that, it is now officially autumn here in North Texas.  You can tell it is autumn in north Texas because the temperatures have plummeted from 100 degrees all the way down to about 91 or 92.   The leaves have changed colors (changing from green to burnt onyx in less than 24 hours counts as a color change).  The leaves don’t change just because it’s autumn; they change because it hasn’t rained in six weeks and they have just given up on life.  And, while people up in northern climes have perhaps gotten out and raked leaves or grown pumpkins or had a cider press or had a hay ride, I had to get out and mow the lawn today.  In the heat.  And the humidity.  And the mosquitoes.   Ya gotta love living in North Texas.

On the plus side, there are no active volcanoes around here that I know about.   That’s pretty much all the real estate writers can come up with as pluses when they are waxing poetic in the housing ads for Dallas area housing:

  • 4BR / 3BA / 2LA
  • 3 car garage
  • Great schools
  • No active volcanoes nearby
  • Convenient access to plays, concerts, art exhibits (by way of the DFW airport to New York City)
  • No major meteor impacts for at least 1000 years
  • On a clear day you can see Oklahoma with the naked eye

No wonder the Dallas housing market is booming!

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Poor Biff’s Almanac: Sunday Late-night Edition

  1. my barometers are similar. A cooling trend for the weekend is localspeak for dipping into the high 70s. But PSL is being served at Starbucks and I just saw the first Halloween yard decorations in my neighborhood. Soon HD and Lowes will stock up cans of spray-on snow for windows. Winter: that’s when frost on the car window sticks around till 9 AM.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment, NotDonner! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one missing out on the postcard type autumn. But I hope you enjoy your version of autumn … and I shall try to enjoy mine. I’ll just light an autumn scented candle or something.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It could be worse: At least it’s not Oklahoma.

    Like

  3. Funny post. 91 huh, cue the northeners with their sub zero temps. It’ll go down to about 40 tonight where i live, Vancouver BC. Or about 4 celsius, we’re metric but I still think in the old scale!

    Like

Leave a Reply

