Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Garden Spider

I found this black and yellow garden spider (Argiope aurantia) literally hanging out in my crepe myrtle tree this morning.

Garden Spider

I was finally able to get a good picture of her with the macro setting on my camera and by manually focusing.  The auto-focus simply did not see her and kept focusing on the branch behind her.  I perhaps rely too much on auto-focus due to my less than perfect eyesight.

The photo is misleading and makes her look huge.  However, she is quite small.  I think the tips of her legs would just barely touch the edge of a dime if spread out like the spokes of a wheel.

I hope she has a good long life and grows to be 2 inches or more across.  These spiders are highly desirable in gardens because they eat lots of pesky insects.  Plus they look really cool!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Garden Spider

  1. Sandra on said:

    What a gorgeous and green beauty she is! If only we in Alberta could boast of such pretty spiders……. or crepe myrtle trees, for that matter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

