Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Rambles Through the Brambles

IMG_0098aa.jpg

Image © 2017 by Biff Sock Pow

Here is a picture I took with my trusty Canon Rebel T6 while out taking a ramble through a tiny wildlife sanctuary in one of the surrounding suburbs.  It just goes to show that there is beauty even in a dauntless stalk of prairie grass that has somehow risen above the chaotic melee of Texas brambles and has raised its arms to the heavens as if to say, “Here I am!  Do your worst!”.

I juiced up the saturation a bit to bring out the colors, but not much.  I love the cinnamon colored seed pods against the blue of the Texas sky.

The yellow flowers speckling the background are, I believe, Bastard Cabbage.  Even though I dearly love that name, it is an invasive species.  In fact, I believe most of the plants in this shot are invasive species.

I’m not sure about that lone red flower.  It looks like a Drummond Phlox, but that seems highly unlikely.  More likely it is a Firewheel or a Trumpet Creeper.  Whatever it is, it seems a little out of place.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Rambles Through the Brambles

  1. Wonderful photo! “Trumpet Creeper” is an amazing name for a flower too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Shawn! I am a novice when it comes to wildflowers, but as I research them to find out what I’ve taken pictures of, I’m quite struck by the colorful and amusing names many of them have. Apparently botanists have quite a sense of humor! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

