Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Rusting On My Laurels

angif-rest-on-your-laurels

This is my 124th post (yay me!), which is about 120 more than I thought I’d be able to create when I first started this journey at the beginning of the year (2017).  Sticking to projects is not my strong suit.  I get bored easily, which, I suppose is just a euphemism for “I’m lazy” or “I have a very short attention span“.

But honestly, I never thought I’d get this many posts written.  (high fives myself)

So I’ve been wondering when it gets easier.  When will I be able to just sit down and dash off something and post it?  When will I post 2 or 3 times a day just because I have that many interesting things to say?

It’s a struggle to write even once a day.  My days don’t change much from day to day.  I’m firmly ensconced on the work-home-sleep-work treadmill.  Whatever flashes of brilliance or genius I have while in the car on the way to or from work tend to either get forgotten by the time I am sitting in front of the computer, or else when I really start to ponder them and try to flesh them out as a blog post, they take on a sort of ridiculousness or insipidness that makes me just wad them up and throw them in the trashcan (figuratively speaking).

But if there’s one thing I’ve discovered, blogging is definitely a “what have you done for me lately?” medium.  One can post every day for a month and the likes and the follows roll in (relatively speaking), but stop posting for a single day and they drop to zero quicker than you can say Jack Robinson.  It’s definitely not like a musician who has a hit song or an actor who’s on a hit TV show that goes into syndication.  The royalties don’t keep rolling in decades after the song or show was first released.

So, there’s no resting on one’s laurels.  It is, to borrow a phrase from academia, publish or perish.

The problem is, I don’t have enough interesting thoughts or experiences to post every day.  I may have to resort to just making things up.

But I’d hate to be mistaken for a journalist or politician.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Rusting On My Laurels

  1. It sounds like you are having a rough patch. You need some new followers and input. Here’s the deal…you are funny. I’m looking for funny. I’m starting a weekly series called Guest in Jest where people can do humorous guest blogs. If you are having a hard time coming up with something brand spanky new, that’s not a problem. Pick one of your earlier pieces that you’d like to present to a new audience. I don’t have a whole lot of followers, but I have about 250 and they are a great bunch. Think about it and give me a shout if you are interested. Here’s a little info: https://mainepaperpusher.wordpress.com/2017/07/08/guest-in-jest-submissions
    Hopefully, that will work. I’ve had the worst problem with URLs tonight. I’m URL deficient. It’s a sad state of affairs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

