Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Easter at a Flea Market … and Other Signs You’ve Hit Rock Bottom

Happy Easter everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful day.

I spent part of my day at the Third Monday Trade Days in McKinney, Texas.

Now, I know to a huge percentage of the world’s population, Easter does not scream out “flea market!”  And, before today, it did not to me, either.  “Going to a flea market on Easter” is as nonsensical a phrase as has ever been uttered by anyone to date.  My ancestors would come up out of the grave and haunt me if they knew I did such a thing. (Hopefully, they’re not reading this blog.)  And my living relatives would be just as astonished and dismayed.

But in my defense … the flea market was open … so if I am insane, so were several thousand other people today.

Even more in my defense, it was a lovely spring day begging for an outdoor activity.  Since I am too old to go look for Easter eggs, I thought “Why not?”  It was warm without being hot (about 75 F at first … 85 F by the end of the day).  It was overcast, so no chance of sunburn.  And there was a pleasant breeze to help one forget about the high humidity (about 85%).  It was very festive (lots of kids and parents in their Easter finery).  The food booths were in full swing, cranking out kettle corn, hot dogs, Frito chili pies, roasted corn, funnel cakes, and just about any kind of food that can be served on a stick.  The vendors were selling anything from Pampered Chef on down to rusted out license plates from every state in the nation.

I once again found my spirit animal.

20170416_125330a.jpg

You may remember from my trip to the Ennis Bluebonnet Festival last weekend, that I stumbled upon this very same animal.  But this is a horse donkey of a different color.  Literally.  But the similarities are so striking, it makes me wonder if there isn’t a giant factory over in China just cranking out metal donkeys as fast as possible.  It just seems too fantastical that I would find two such beasts at two different flea markets 60 miles apart.  All I know is that, if there is indeed a metal donkey factory, all of the workers in it know for a fact that Americans are certifiably insane.

I also found these cute little guys.

20170416_125322a.jpg

Now what’s not to like about these little fellas?  I suggested that they would look awesome on the mantle.   Surprisingly, the suggestion was vetoed.  As was my suggestion of putting the metal donkey in the entryway.  I’m beginning to think that my interest in art is not fully appreciated!

Anyway, I hope you all had a happy Easter … and I further hope that you did NOT spend it at a flea market.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

