Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Please Don’t Shoot the Bluebonnets

Here in Texas, the bluebonnets are in full bloom and it’s time for my annual tradition.

Throughout most of the year, north Texas is a bland, colorless place.  However, at the moment the medians and easements are ablaze with bluebonnets.  Bluebonnets are the state flower of Texas and every spare inch of government-owned green-space is seeded heavily with them every year.  For a few glorious weeks in early spring, nearly the entire state is blushing a beautiful blue.

So now that it is spring and the bluebonnets are abloom, it is time for my annual tradition.  My tradition is to promise myself for weeks that I am going to stop and take some pictures of the beautiful bluebonnets, but then to let bluebonnet season go by without a single picture of them.  I have lived in Dallas for 30-ish years and I don’t have a single bluebonnet picture to my name.

So here’s one I appropriated off of the internet.  The tradition continues.

Texas-bluebonnets-field

Photo Credit:  http://www.statesymbolsusa.org/symbol-official-item/texas/state-flower/bluebonnet

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Please Don’t Shoot the Bluebonnets

  1. I didn’t know about that tradition! Sounds beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

