Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

This Is Progress?

what-year-is-f8ypbf

So I was at Fry’s Electronics over the weekend picking up a few things for my latest foray into Nerdville.  My 20-something year old daughter was with me, but to save her the boredom of looking at nerd toys and the embarrassment of being seen with her dad, I said she could go look at other things while I browsed in “my” department.  We met back up after about 15 minutes and to my great surprise, she said she wanted to show me something.  I was taken aback at her enthusiasm.  I didn’t think Fry’s carried anything that would be remotely interesting to her.

She walked me across the store to the consumer electronic section and showed me with great excitement . . . . (dramatic pause) . . .. Polaroid instant print cameras.

polaroid-camera

I felt like the meme above.  What year is this?  Not only have all of the CDs been replaced with vinyl albums, but now Polaroid cameras are actually popular with the youth.

I said, “Why do you need one of these?”

“It’ll just be fun to have a camera I can use with  my friends.”

I thought for a moment that I must be going insane.  These words came from the girl that exchanges literally thousands of pictures a year with her friends via Snapchat and Instagram and Facebook.

“You have a camera,” I said.  “It’s in your phone.”

“But this one [meaning the Polaroid] is just better.”

“Your phone takes pictures that are literally thousands of times better than that Polaroid.”

“Well, it’s just fun.  I’d really like to have one.”

I gazed at the garish monstrosity from yesteryear (redesigned to be sleeker and more colorful and more expensive).

 

I did some quick math.  At roughly $75 for the camera, and $25 for one box of film that takes eight pictures, you’re looking at $100 dollars to take eight low-resolution pictures that smell like a toxic waste dump.  I told her that each of those pictures would cost her $12.50 each.

But she would not be dissuaded.  She had already entered the Irrational Zone.  I just shook my head.

What year is this, indeed!

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “This Is Progress?

  1. My 22-yr old daughter asked for one too! (Maybe there’s old one lurking in a thrift store somewhere. Would they know the difference?)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I know why some people (including me) are attracted to this stuff. Because back in the day content had a lot more value. When you were on holiday, you could only take a couple photos, and maybe the 24-shots film was enough for more than one vacation. Sure that’s not a lot, but hey, when I take a look at old photos, I always look at them, not the ones on iCloud.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that’s a very good point! Back in the day, when I had my trusty Canon AE-1 35mm SLR and I loaded it up with a roll of 24 exposure film, I was a lot more selective about whet I took pictures of. U also took a lot more time setting up the photo and composing it. It seems counterintuitive, but I enjoyed photography a lot more back then than I do now. And, as you pointed out, it is more fun to go back and enjoy those small quantities of photos. Looking through my phone now at the thousands upon thousands of photos on there just makes my head hurt.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

