Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Epilogue — Sunday Evening

water-pipe-clip-art-203776

You may remember from my last exciting post that I was sitting at the kitchen table early on Sunday morning listening to the blue jays grousing.  Who knew that bluejays could do bird impressions?  What do they think they are?  Mockingbirds?  Would that make them mockingjays?  But I digress.

Much has come to pass since my post of this morning in which I was drinking coffee and wrapped in the warm fuzziness of thinking I had a full day of relaxation ahead of me.  Such fluffy hazes never seem to last for long.  People appear with ideas that are diametrically opposed to my own ideas.  Cats complain about their delicate digestive systems all over the carpeting.  Plumbing decides today is the perfect day to spring a leak.

Oh yes!  That’s right.  I engaged in an epic battle of wills against a recalcitrant and intransigent toilet.  I have fixed leaky toilets before.  I’m sure most of us have.  There are any number of YouTube videos or This Old House videos or Reader’s Digest Home Repair and Improvement Guides to help us along in our efforts to keep our homes from becoming soggy and waterlogged.  It’s easy, they all say.  Just perform these 5 easy steps and you are done.

But it’s never as simple as they imply.  Every time I take a part to my local hardware store for a replacement, I always hear something along the lines of, “Oh my!  They haven’t made them like this in years!” or  “Oh boy!  I haven’t seen one of these in decades!”  or even the occasional “What medieval castle did you get this out of?”  Though my house isn’t that old, I’m constantly befuddled as to why the designers and builders of my house chose such odd and one-of-a-kind things to put in my house.  And just to make things extra challenging, they built a shelf three inches above the toilet tank!  Trying to do anything under those conditions is like trying to build a ship in a bottle.  However, when you’re done building a ship in a bottle, you don’t have to worry about it springing a leak in the middle of the night and flooding your house.

Anyway, in spite of all that, it was a nice day.  I hope yours was awesome too!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

