Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Getting Around the Block

writer

Okay … stand back.  This could get ugly.  I must tell you of my secret shame.

I have been suffering from writer’s block for several days now.

(I’ll wait for the gasps to subside before continuing.   All done now?  Okay … fine.  Here we go then.)

I know that is nothing new to anyone here.  Everyone who calls themselves a writer suffers from it from time to time.  There are no less than 3,753,216,891 blog posts written about writer’s block.  The posts are written by people who are either suffering from it, who have recently recovered from it, who fear it, or who are just writing anything at all in an attempt to rid themselves of it.

Which begs the question:  Is there anything more boring than reading someone else’s post about writer’s block?  I think not.  If that’s true then that means I am boring you to tears right this very moment.

Perhaps that is my superpower.  I have the ability to bore people unconscious by talking about my writer’s block.  This could come into handy.  For instance, if there was a bank robbery in progress, I could sidle up to the miscreant and, speaking in a lilting tone so as to lower his guard, I could say, “Have I ever told you about the time I had writer’s block so bad that I couldn’t even write my name on a credit card receipt?”

By this time the malefactor would be sleeping soundly and I could pluck the zip gun or shiv (whichever he prefers) from his relaxed hand.  Someone would call the gendarmes.  Reporters would descend on me looking for a statement, etc etc etc.  You get the picture.

So see, writer’s block can be a good thing.  (This blog post notwithstanding.)

And make that 3,753,216,892 and counting.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Getting Around the Block

  1. Don’t worry! As you said, we all suffer from it from time to time! I put up my hand to admit I’ve written a post on it too! To be honest, there is nothing worse than seeing a writer brag about how ‘they never get writer’s block’ – which is a load of total bullshit and completely makes them look like an idiot! (I just read one… I was tempted to write a scathing comment but stopped myself lol). Anyway, let’s hope we can push through this together and get writing on our novels!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Millie! You are right. We all suffer from it once in awhile. That’s why it’s good to have a network of other writers, so we can encourage each other. Thank you for your support! And if you need some encouraging words, just stop by anytime!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Heck, no worries. It is very encouraging to new scribblers (me) that writers’ block is common to millions! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, Notdonner! Just keep on writing. Writer’s block can’t last forever. Ironically, the best way to cure it is to just start writing. Even if you end up throwing it away, the act of writing is therapeutic and restorative. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

