Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Poor Time Management and the Voice in My Head

eeyore-sitting-on-clock-sad-huh

It is Tuesday evening.  My brain keeps telling me it is Wednesday evening.  We often have this disagreement.  I think it is one day, my brain thinks it is another.  My brain is usually the optimistic one.  It will tell me it is Friday when it is really only Thursday.  Or it will tell me it is Wednesday when it is really only Tuesday.

I, on the other hand, tend to be more pragmatic (a fancy word for “pessimistic”).  Even if all evidence points to it being closer to the weekend than not, my brain (which sounds like Eeyore, for some reason) will say, “But it couldn’t possibly be Friday.  Because Friday is a fun day.  And today is definitely not fun.”

Not that I’m pessimistic by nature.  I tend to be an optimist in most things.  But when it comes to trying to hold out for the weekend, I always tend to think that the weekend is further away than it is closer.  I think it is the same tactic runners use to keep their energy levels up during an endurance race.  They will tell themselves they still have five miles left to run, when they really only have two.  That may be a bad analogy.  I don’t know.  I’ve never run more than about 50 yards in my entire life.  And the few times I have, it was because I was either being chased by something or because I had to in order to get a passing grade in gym class (or both).

But the point I’m trying to make is that sprinting towards the weekend goes a lot smoother if we lie to ourselves about where we are in the week.

No, that can’t be the point I was trying to make.

I think the point I was trying to make is that the human brain is a very bad at measuring time accurately.

Or . . . maybe …. my point was … um … that … let’s see here ….

My point is that we don’t get to choose the celebrity voice that plays the role of our inner voice.  If we could, do you think I would have chosen Eeyore?  How cool would it be if my inner voice was Captain Picard (Patrick Stewart)?  Or perhaps Dirty Harry (Clint Eastwood).  Ooh!  Ooh!  James Earl Jones!  (This is CNN!)

But … nope … I got Eeyore.

And it’s still only Tuesday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

